ESAM’s Scientific Advisory Board Committee (ABC) was founded in 2007 and is tasked to provide scientific advice on aerospace medical questions to the Executive Committee. It is an independent body within ESAM. During 2021 the ABC consisted of Trond-Eirik Strand (Chair), Ries Simons (Co-Chair), Martin Hudson (Secretary), Claudia Stern, Olivier Manen, René Maire, Olga Verba, Roland Vermeiren, Jochen Hinkelbein and Felix Strollo. 

Due to the covid-19 pandemic the activity has been somewhat lower than usual in ABC. Only two digital meetings have been conducted up-to September 2021. Members of the ABC participated actively in scientific webinars organised by ESAM Academy (Effects of the COVID-19 pandemic on the aviation community and on aircrew), EASA (two workshops on Pilot Peer Support), and lectured in several basic and advanced courses for AMEs. 

Members of ABC have been engaged in ESAM Academy (Claudia, Ries, Roland, Felix). Olivier is involved in planning ICASM 2022 and Martin represented ESAM in ICAO Mental Health Group. The Circle of Experts groups Ophthalmology (chaired by Claudia), Space Medicine (chaired by Jochen), Cardiology (chaired by René), Mental Health (chaired by Ries), and Human Factors (chaired by Ries) have started their activities. The Space Medicine group published in November 2020 (after the last annual report) a paper on cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) during spaceflight on behalf of the German Society of Aerospace Medicine (DGLRM) and the European Society of Aerospace Medicine Space Medicine Group (ESAM-SMG). 

In the coming year, the ABC will further promote the expertise potential of the Circle of Experts groups to assist National Authorities and EASA in their scientific issues. Where relevant, collaboration with working groups of the Aerospace Medical Association (AsMA) and the International Academy of Aerospace medicine (IAASM) will be sought.  

Trond-Eirik Strand and Ries Simons,
Chair and Co-chair Advisory Board Committee